En Español
En Español

Vargas announces 50 endorsements

Press Release   Posted by Tony Vargas · February 17, 2022

The Vargas campaign announced today that he has been endorsed by 50 individuals and organizations in his campaign for Congress. These endorsements include members of Congress, elected officials, and organizations from all across the country.

The latest finance reports show Vargas with a formidable and historic lead in fundraising as well. The campaign reported raising more than $300,000 in the last quarter of 2021 and more than $700,000 total for the year, a clear sign of Vargas’ strength heading into 2022.

“I am thrilled to have such a strong start to our campaign and humbled to have support from Nebraskans from all walks of life,” Vargas said. “Both Nebraskans and leaders and organizations from across the country have united behind me to build the broad coalition that is needed to flip this seat and bring real leadership for working families to Washington.”

Vargas’s endorsements include:

BOLD Democrats (Congressional Hispanic Caucus)
314 Action
Latino Victory
Democrats Serve
IBEW Local 22
UFCW Local 293
SEIU Local 226

Rep. Linda Sanchez (CA-38)
Rep. Raul Ruiz (CA-36)

Former Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Kerrey
Former U.S. Congressman John Cavanaugh (NE-02)

Senator John Cavanaugh Jr.
Senator Adam Morfeld
Senator Patty Pansing Brooks
Senator Matt Hansen
Senator Jen Day
Senator Steve Lathrop
Senator Wendy DeBoer
Senator Lynne Walz
Senator Eliot Bostar
Former Senator Bob Krist
Former Senator DiAnna Schimek
Former Senator Dan Quick

Former Omaha Mayor Mike Fahey
Former Omaha Mayor Jim Suttle

Omaha City Council Member Vinny Palermo
Lincoln Councilwoman Tammy Ward
Former Omaha City Councilman Ben Gray

NU Regent Elizabeth O’Connor
NU Regent Barbara Weitz
Former NU Regent Chuck Hassebrook

MCC Board of Governors Zach Reinhardt
OPS Board Member Tracy Casady
OPS Board Member Marque Snow
Former OPS Board Member Kimara Snipes
Learning Community Council Board Member Lisa Schoenberger
Learning Community Council Board Member Mark Hoeger
Learning Community Council Board Member Carol Hahn
Millard Public Schools Board Member and former State Senator Amanda McGill Johnson

Lancaster County Commissioner Sean Flowerday
Douglas County Public Defender Tom Riley
Douglas County Clerk Dan Esch

Public Service Commissioner Crystal Rhoades

OPPD Board Member Craig Moody
OPPD Board Member Amanda Bogner
OPPD Board Member Eric Williams
Former OPPD Board Member Anne McGuire
MUD Board Member and former State Senator Gwen Howard

Former Nebraska Democratic Party Chair Vince Powers
Greg Gonzalez, Deputy Chief of Police and candidate for Douglas County Sheriff

All News All Events